Educating for the Lived Gospel #159

Then I acknowledged my sin to you,
and I did not hide my iniquity;
I said, ‘I will confess my transgressions to the LORD’,
and you forgave the guilt of my sin. (Ps 32:5)

Part-way through Lent, it is good to check that I am continuing to reflect upon how I can improve as a person; be more faithful, more whole. It can feel safer to dodge my mistakes. However, it is only when I face them that I can be free from them. When I truly acknowledge my mistakes and shortcomings they lose their ‘hold’ on me and I can move on.

And so it is with the young people in our care. Like adults, it can be difficult for young people to acknowledge their mistakes. Such an admission can seem to crush their developing sense of self. Rather, we need to share our own experiences of liberation from our mistakes when we confront them. As much as each of us can do so, it is another step on the road to full life.

Have a great week!
Patrick

2 thoughts on “Educating for the Lived Gospel #159

  1. Lat two weeks have been excellent mate – I used last week’s in class and will again with this one.

    Thank you.

    Not sure I can make it to your book launch.

    Still trying to sort out after school duties.

    Regards to all the family,

    Carl

    >

Leave a Reply

